Recent Posts
  • Sam Rasmin - @sjrasmin

NEW ALBUM: Kendrick Lamar - Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers

Ever since launching the 'oklama' site and making his comeback with 'Heart Pt.5', music lovers across the globe have been screaming for the new Kendrick Lamar album, 'Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers. It has been 5 years since he delivered 'DAMN.', and with this being his last TDE project, there was some huge expectations attached to the 18 track body of work.

Spanning across 18 expertly crafted pieces of music the eagerly anticipated album has been split into two separated bodies of work. The first 9 tracks being the 'Big Steppers', and the second 9 tracks being 'Mr. Morale'. An interesting concept, which most definitely adds meaning and clarity to the messages within the album.

Big Steppers

1. United In Grief

2. N95

3. Worldwide Steppers

4. Die Hard ft. Blxst & Amanda Reifer

5. Father Time ft. Sampha

6. Rich (Interlude)

7. Rich Spirit

8. We Cry Together ft. Taylour Paige

9. Purple Hearts ft. Summer Walker & Ghostface Killah

Mr. Morale

1. Count Me Out

2. Crown

3. Silent Hill ft. Kodak Black

4. Savior (Interlude)

5. Savior ft. Baby Keem & Sam Dew

6. Auntie Diaries

7. Mr. Morale ft. Tanna Leone

8. Mother I Sober ft. Beth Gibbons of Portishead

9. Mirror

If you approached this new Kendrick with the hope of hearing 'radio hits', then the project isn't for you. This is very much a reflective piece of work from the TDE talent, and it gives us a very clear idea of where him, and his mental state has been over the past 5 years. The highly rated wordsmith opens up in a way we have never seen from him before and one thing for certain, he does not fail in translating his thoughts and emotions into timeless pieces of music which will definitely stand the test of time.

Accompanied by the likes of Blxst, Sampha, Summer Walker, Ghostface Killah, Kodak Black, Baby Keem and more, Kendrick has carefully hand picked his collaborators on 'Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers', and they have all delivered to the highest standard.

Be sure to check out both sides of the new album for yourselves, and let us know if you're feeling it.