Recent Posts
  • Sam Rasmin - @sjrasmin

NEW ALBUM: @WileyUpdates - Godfather

After originally being intended for September 2016, we have finally been blessed with Wiley's 11th and last studio album 'Godfather'. It's been just over 2 years since we received his last studio album 'Snakes & Ladders' which was released on the 'Big Dada' label, this time round Wiley has kept it independent and brought it all the way back to his roots...the Grime scene.

For me, 'Godfather' shows Wiley's journey and progression as an artist, from being a pioneer for the scene when it was so raw, and on a national level it was 'socially unacceptable', to working with major labels and drifting away from the scene at times, and now he has come back and showed everyone why he is the 'Godfather of Grime'. A label which he attempted to steer away from for so long, and refused to accept. In a recent interview with his long time friend DJ Target for the BBC he finally admitted that he is the 'Godfather' of the scene that has risen to success over the past few years. I definitely recommend you give the interview a listen at the link below, an iconic and memorable interview for two friends who have grown together and come up together, to discuss such a legendary moment, and journey.

Click the image to be redirected to the BBC Radio 1xtra interview with DJ Target and Wiley

We were treated to 3 exclusive tracks from that interview, but at midnight today the full album dropped and is available to stream and purchase from all digital outlets, and hard copies are available in stores nationwide. This iconic album consists of a number of features, but they aren't just any normal features. We see artists who have travelled on this long and hard journey jump on tracks which makes it so much more legendary. 'Godfather' is a milestone in the Grime scene, and it is now ready to be taken to the next level. Wiley has delivered a full 17 track project which has confirmed his title as the 'Godfather' and it was the one thing that was missing from the scene, with all the success that underground UK artists saw in 2016, we step into 2017 and have been given one of the greatest albums to come from the underground scene. It is now time to level up and achieve more greatness.

The Eski boy himself released a number of singles for the album and also gave us visuals for some of these releases. To drop 6 singles from an album would leave most artists with very little material left to bring to the table, but not Wiley...6 tracks was not even half of his album.

A very wise move to start bringing material and promoting the album from last September. Everybody has been talking about this album, and when frustration kicked in and we were eager to hear it, he calmed us down and dropped another visual. And now we have the full project. Personally, I am glad we waited so long. The 'Godfather' album needed to be fully absorbed by the people so we could appreciate the grind and the doors that Wiley and his Grime family have broken down. Yes, greatness was achieved last year, but if you love the culture and the scene you will know that the movement had not 100% maxed out until we received this album. Wiley has now set up the remainder of 2017 for every creative from the UK to keep it moving and carry on progressing.


1. Birds n Bars

2. Bring Them All / Holy Grime (feat. Devlin)

3. Name Brand (feat. JME, Frisco & J2K)

4. Speakerbox

5. Back With a Banger

6. Joe Bloggs (feat. Newham Generals & President T)

7. Pattern Up Properly (feat. Flowdan & Jamakabi)

8. Can't Go Wrong

9. Bang (feat. Ghetts)

10. U Were Always, Pt. 2 (feat. Skepta & Belly)

11. On This (feat. Chip, Ice Kid & Little D)

12. Bait Face (feat. Scratchy)

13. My Direction (feat. Lethal Bizzle)

14. Like It Or Not (feat. Breeze)

15. Lucid

16. Laptop (feat. Manga)

17. P Money Remix (feat. P Money) [Bonus]

A very powerful tracklist, full of artists who deserve the recognition from the grime scene blow up, some names are people he grew with and helped pioneered the scene, some are younger heads like Chip and JME, Not that age contributes anything. Despite them being young and having years ahead of them yet, they are two names who have been around from the early days. In the recent interview with Target, Wiley says how he has learned from Chip and has the upmost respect for him.

One major factor which makes this album so great is the chemistry amongst everyone involved with the creation. The beats we hear range from the raw Eski style, to more relaxed beats, but every artist featuring has been carefully selected to suit that beat. We here Skepta and Belly come very calm and relaxed on 'U Were Always, Pt 2' and then you see Flowdan and Jamakabi come through with some powerful and direct bars on the raw beat for 'Pattern Up Properly'.

Out of the tracks that we hadn't already heard prior to the release, in my opinion, the best track on the album has to be between 'On This' and 'Joe Bloggs', two very powerful tracks and they really define the legacy behind 'Godfather', Wiley as an artist, and the grime scene in general. From the beats, to the bars, to the features on the track. These two carry a lot of power in the sound and the message behind the project.

This may be the last album, but the legacy will live on, and after his interview with NME, he stayed at the location to shoot a video for a track that does not feature on the album. So, this tells me that he's not quite done with Grime...not just yet.

Click on the link below to purchase the album.

iTunes: Wiley - Godfather

#NewAlbum #Wiley #Godfather #EskiBeats #Grime #EastLondon #BowE3 #2017 #DJTarget #BBCRadio1xtra